Council ChairmanRev. Fr. William Kyere

Bono Regional Peace Council

The Bono region is one of the 16 administrative regions of Ghana. It was carved out of the former Brong Ahafo Region. Bono regional capital is Sunyani which prides itself as the cleanest capital city and major conference destination. Bono region shares a border at the North with Savannah Region, bordered on the West by Cote d’Ivoire International border, on the East by Bono East, and on the South by Ahafo Region. It has a population of about 1,208,649 according to the Ghana Statistical Service in 2021 census.

The ‘’Bono “, also called the ‘’Brong’’ and the ‘’Abron’’ are an Akan people.  The Bono language is spoken by 1.2 million Ghanaians in the central Ghanaian Region of Brong –Ahafo and by over 300,000 in eastern Ivory Coast.( A profile of Bono Kyempem – Essays on the Archeolgy, History, Language & Politics of the Brong peoples of Ghana)

There are other ethnic groups in the Bono Region.  These includes Mole-Dagbani (22.2%), Grusi (6.9%) Mande (1.5%) Grumas (12.3%), Guans, Ewes (4.3%) and Ga-Dangmes (1.2%).  The Bono Region has 12 administrative Districts namely,

  1. Jaman-North District – Sampa as Capital
  2. Sunyani-west District – Odumase as Capital
  3. Tain District – Nsawkwa as Capital
  4. Dormaa East District – Wamfie as Capital
  5. Dormaa West District – Nkran Kwanta as Capital
  6. Dormaa Central Municipality – Dormaa Ahenkro as capital
  7. Berekum Municipality – Berekum as Capital
  8. Berekum West District – Jinjini as Capital
  9. Banda District – Banda Ahenkro as Capital
  10. Wenchi Municipality – Wenchi as Capital
  11. Sunyani Municipality – Sunyani as Capital
  12. Jaman-South Municipality – Drobo as Capital


Basically, three distinct types of conflicts are identifiable in the region. namely; chieftaincy succession conflicts (mostly intra-ethnic), resource-based conflicts (normally between different paramount stools over land alongside Fulani herdsmen and local farmers contestation and struggles over land for grazing) and political conflicts (usually between the supporters of NDC and the NPP).

The region also has 19 Paramountcy’s across the 12 politically administrative jurisdictions (six Districts and six Municipalities) and all the 19 paramountcy’s have had prolonged chieftaincy and land litigations. However, the rising trend of land litigations such as The Sunyani Traditional Area Vs Fiapre Traditional Area, Drobo and Japeikrom Land ownership and boundary Dispute

has the potential to disturb the prevailing peace of the region if not settled. Although the Bono Regional peace Council (BRPC) had initiated mediation processes to resolve some of these disputes there is the need for feuding parties to cooperate for amicable settlement.

In the wake of threats of terrorism and extremism in the Sub-Saharan, the Bono Region is also at risk. Nevertheless, the Council had intensified public sensitisation along border communities in the region to make residents security conscious and report people with strange movement to the security operatives as well. Community sensitisations had also been undertaken at Drobo and Japekrom in the Jaman South Municipality, Sampa, Jaman North District, Nkrankwanta, Dormaa West District and Dormaa-Ahenkro, Dormaa Central Municipality which shared borders with Ivory Coast and appealed to the public to remain watchful and help identify the threat of terrorism.

Summarily, the region enjoys relative peace due the overwhelming reliance on due process to resolve ensuing conflicts. A clear example is chieftaincy conflicts which also happen to be high in the region. On the whole, various mechanisms are being utilized to manage the conflicts identified in the region.

Regional Executive Secretary

Mr. Suallah Abdallah Quandah,

Mr. Suallah Abdallah Quandah is my name born and bred in Wenchi in the Bono Region of Ghana. I am the Regional Executive Secretary with the National Peace Council in-charge of the Bono Region and acting in the Bono East Region. Read More…

Supporting Staff